mobile menu

Florida Attorneys Now Required to Obtain Technology CLE Hours

The Florida Supreme Court recently made changes to the CLE requirements for Florida attorneys. Beginning Jan. 1, 2017, attorneys licensed to practice law in Florida will be required to undergo a minimum of three hours of technology CLE during each three-year cycle. Additionally, the Court raised the minimum amount of CLE hours from 30 hours to 33 hours per cycle.

Smith Hulsey & Busey attorneys strive to exceed technological competence and the required coursework. For example, even before the recent changes to the Florida CLE requirements, firm attorney Christopher Dix was educating clients and colleagues on the latest advancements in technology, cyber security and e-discovery. Dix recently spoke about “Digital Devices in the Workplace” at a cybersecurity event at the Small Business Development Center at the University of North Florida.

Dix is also the founding President of the Jacksonville Chapter of the Association of Certified E-Discovery Specialists. He will be speaking at an event on December 9th at the Duval County Courthouse entitled “Presenting Digital Evidence at Trial.” The presentation qualifies for 2 hours of the new technology CLE requirement in Florida.


Follow us on LinkedIn for more content updates